6 Benefits of Blogging

blog

Whenever I complain about not having enough time to do everything I think I need to do–family responsibilities, writing and publishing books, writing articles and submitting them to magazines, marketing, maintaining my website, and blogging—my husband, the accountant, asks:

“What has the potential to make the most money?”

“Well, my books.”

“Then do that.”

He has a hard time understanding why I put so much time and effort into something that appears to yield so little profit. Sometimes I wonder the same myself, yet I keep blogging. Here’s six reasons why:

  1. It’s a Good Discipline and Keeps Me Writing – Even when I don’t feel like writing, knowing I have a blog post to complete forces me to write which improves my writing.
  2. It Helps Me Clarify my Target Audience – As I write each week and check responses, I get a better idea who my target audience is and what interests them.
  3. It can be a Source of Income – If you know what you are doing, you can make money through ads. I’ve yet to do this. I currently use WordPress.com for my website so I’m not able to put ads on my website, but I’ve heard some people do. Maybe some day I’ll grow up to a WordPress.org website and try this.
  4. It can be a Source of Other Income – During Lent I posted a weekly series on Lenten Pitfalls. This series was easily turned into an article that I can now send to magazines. I also posted a Bible Study which I intend to publish eventually. And, in the future, I plan to take my weekly posts on the Psalms and turn this into a book of reflections. All potential sources of income. No writing is wasted.
  5. It Gives You Something for your Facebook page, Twitter, Linked In, and various other social media sites. Speaking of not wasting any writing, I now post a link to my most recent blog post on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus, thereby extending the reach of my original blog post and keeping active on those sites without having to come up with new material.
  6. It Helps Build Your Platform – And then there’s that all important platform that agents and publishers insist you have before they will look at your writing. I have yet to develop a large platform, but at least I’m making the effort. That counts.

What about you? Do you blog, and if so, why? Can you add more benefits to my list? I would love to hear from you.

In celebration of Mother’s Day, anyone who signs up for my newsletter will receive their choice of a chapter from my latest book, Who Me? Full of Grace?, along with “7 Ways to Unlock the Extraordinary from the Everyday.” Chapters include:  Motherhood Stress:  It Causes More than a Few Grey Hairs; Moms and Anger:  A Blessing in Disguise; Finding Time for Prayer When There is No Time; Finding Grace in Your Journey.

Be among the first to hear about my latest writing projects and opportunities for free books. Just click on the yellow box to your right!

 

This entry was posted in On Life and Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

