Word Count Up-Date

nano pages

My pages for this week – word count 14,150!

I work out at Planet Fitness two or three times a week. When I ride the stationary bike, I’m routinely treated to FOX News and the Food Network. I’ve become enamored with Cup Cake Wars on the Food Network. Each time I watch it, there is at least one melt-down with batter or cooked cupcakes being dumped and started over. The contestants always want this “more than anything else.” The show is designed for drama/trauma as contestants are given unrealistic goals to accomplish in limited time. The final two contestants have to make 1000 cupcakes, design a display and put the cupcakes on that display in two hours. The winner gets $10,000.

I’ve been thinking about this as I complete the first week of NaNoWriMo. I’m not one for drama, but if I were, I would need to manufacture a few crisis to keep interest in my progress, like losing all of my data, falling two weeks behind schedule, or developing a life threatening disease. None of these have happened. I am a little behind schedule but nothing that can’t be made up next week. I don ‘t want this “more than anything else,” but then I don’t have a prize of $10,000 at stake. I just get the satisfaction of seeing “winner” attached to my name every time I go to the NaNoWriMo site, a surprisingly pleasant feeling even at my age. I guess we all like to be winners now and then.

My personal goal for the week is 15,000 words. At 14,150 and the rest of the day ahead of me, I could make that, but then I haven’t bought groceries all week and I still need to work out to keep myself healthy for the weeks to come. I like to give myself the weekend off from writing, this way I return Monday morning refreshed with new ideas and ready to go. So whether I make it to my mini-goal or not, I’m well on my way. It is a marathon, not a sprint! And to add excitement to my progress, when I hit the half-way point, 25,000, I will be offering my latest novel, Dancing on High Wire, for free in kindle format. So please stay tuned. I expect to reach that benchmark sometime next week.

Also, sign up for my newsletter by clicking the box in the right hand column and receive other discounts on my novels. This months newsletter will include tips for keeping your family balanced over the holiday! And, if you are in the area Saturday, stop by to Western Schools from 10a.m. to 4p.m. for their Holiday Bazaar where I will happily autograph books, fliers, bookmarks, anything!

 

This entry was posted in On Life and Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

