Do You NaNoWriMo?

writing table

Do you NaNoWriMo? Starting Monday, Nov. 3, I will be seated at this table, participating in National Novel Writing Month. I’m looking forward to it. There’s nothing like putting other projects aside to focus on writing 50,000 words in one month. Long before I put pen to paper, I’ve been  writing in my head. It will feel good to finally get it out of my head and onto paper, regardless how rough the format. In order to enter my words into the NaNoWriMo website and get credit for word count, I will have to type everything into my computer, an extra step. So, in essence I’m writing a second draft since I edit as I type.

I don’t usually write on weekends. Being newly married, I try to save weekends for time with my husband. I also find there is only so much I can write every week. Taking the weekend off gives me a needed break. Adding to the challenge is Thanksgiving at the end of the month. Being a compulsive planner and overachiever, not a seat of my pants writer, I like to finish ahead of deadline, then sit back and enjoy a cup of coffee. Last year I finished before Thanksgiving so I was ready to relax and enjoy the holiday. I hope to do the same this year. My goal is to write 15,000 words a week for first three weeks of November then 5,000 the last week, finishing before guest arrive on Wednesday, November 26.

While working on my novel, I will not be doing my usual blogs (unless the spirit moves me and I feel compelled to write about a psalm). To entertain you during this time I plan to turn over my blog to Seamus, my puppy, who will write a series entitled, A Day in the Life of a Dog. I hope you will enjoy Seamus’ contributions. I will also post weekly word count updates.

Pray for me, wish me luck as I begin this endeavor. Better yet, join me and write your own novel. Let me know how it goes. I would love to commiserate with you.

Writing table with my writing companion, Montana.

Writing table with my writing companion, Montana.

This entry was posted in On Life and Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

