Why I Write? Blog Tour

Writing Process Blog Tour

Thank you to Niki Tulk for inviting me to participate in this blog tour. Niki is a writer and mother, living in New York. Her blog, About Shadows, Wings and Other Things, can be found at http://nikitulk.wordpress.com.

Q – How does your work differ from others of its genre?

A –I’m not sure how I would categorize my writing. I have yet to find my niche, or my “tribe” as some would put it, but I’m working on it. I have written non-fiction articles and books with some success but my first love is writing fiction which is a much harder market to break into so I’m self-publishing. I believe that my audience is similar to me, middle-aged, middle-class and educated. I don’t write “escape” fiction designed to take you out of your environment. Rather I write fiction designed to help you enter more creatively into your own life.

There is a spiritual underpinning to all of my writing because that is who I am, but I don’t classify my writing as specifically “Christian”. God may or may not figure in my characters’ lives and while there might be a Scripture quote, this is limited. I want people to realize how incredible they truly are, hence my tag-line, “unlocking the extraordinary from the every day.” I write about average, every day people, the struggles they face and how they overcome these struggles.

Q – What are you working on?

A – I’m currently prepping my novel, Land of Deep Waters, for publication in July. It’s the story of a former religious sister who spent four years in Honduras as a missionary, witnessing the violence and poverty that is part of that country. Banned from returning after a trip home for medical reasons, thirty years later, married with two adult sons, and haunted by her memories, she decides to return. Once that book is done, I plan to start work on editing the book I wrote for NaNoWriMo last November, Dancing on a High Wire. This book tells the story of three women who have been knocked off balance by life circumstances and how they learn to dance on this high wire we call life.

Q – Why do you write what you write?

A – I write because I love to write. I love the feel of pen on paper as words pour out. I feel close to God when I write; I am part of God’s creative process. I’ve been writing in some form all of my life. It has only been since losing my two part time positions over the past two years that I’ve found the time to pursue writing as a full-time endeavor.

Q – How does your writing process work?

A – My process varies. For the most part I am one of those people who write everything in my head multiple times before ever putting pen to paper. So when I do sit down to write it’s like I’m writing a second draft rather than a first draft. I don’t outline my book on paper but do have a general direction in my head when I write. I tend to have “big” ideas that don’t fit into short stories, hence I write novels. However, as mentioned above, last November I participated in NaNoWriMo where you write a novel in one month. This was a first for me. I had heard about it in October so I went into it without a lot of advance preparation and just wrote each day and saw where the characters took me. It was great fun!

Once I get that second draft on paper, I type it, editing all the while. Then I edit, edit, edit, send to a copy-editor, send to friends for input, edit and edit some more.

Self-publishing is a new experience for me. There is still so much for me to learn. I’ve been reading extensively about it and about marketing. If I were farther along in the learning process I would have discount codes for my books ready to give each of you. I know it’s possible to do this, just haven’t got there yet. So come back to my website again, or sign up for my enewsletter. There will be discounts in the near future!

I wasn’t able to get three bloggers to participate in the next leg of this tour. So sorry about this. I hope the other people involved will be able to keep this going. Two of the people I had contacted are not actively blogging at this time and I didn’t hear back from others. So I thought I would mention some of the writing blogs I follow. SheWrites.com – if you aren’t a member, check it out. They publish twice a week with lots of good information for writers. I also follow Kristen Lamb, a crazy Texan writer who provides sound input on writing. And Jeff Goins who provides marketing advice along with writing tips for bloggers.

Thank you for visiting!

This entry was posted in On Life and Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

